The Show Must Go On….

Monday was a day for much needed rest for sure. Keeping that in mind, know that sleeping in till 12pm was me just needing that rest (don’t judge). I really didn’t do anything all day, I didn’t even take a shower when I got up. I just sat in bed and ate some Oreo’s dipped in milk. I talked to my mom for a while but she had to go to bed since it was almost midnight back in Arizona. So for the rest of the day I browsed the internet, watch YouTube videos, oh, and I did watch “Split”, the movie about the guy with multiple personalities who kidnaps three girls, it was pretty good. It was really nice to just rest my brain for once. Caitlyn though, did bug me about my dinner last night with James, saying it was a date, but I kept telling her that it was a “thank you” dinner for helping him translate and fix the English in a document. Before I headed to bed, I finally took a shower and did some last minute writing.

Tuesday we were back in XinZhou for teaching, this week was seventh grade. I taught the same lesson as tenth grade; I just made it simpler and easier for them to understand. Hangman was a great hit, there was this one kid in my second class that used the word ‘twilight’, and for a seventh grader to know that word was very surprising. When I walked over to my third class I was a little early, since there is a ten minute passing period, so I just decided to wait outside of the classroom. I took my phone out and a whole bunch of kids flocked over to me like birds, and they all wanted to know what I was doing. So I turned on Snapchat and went through the different filters, I was laughing so hard because of the faces they were making and the noises too, lol. After classes Yao took us to eat, and after lunch I went to this pen shop and bought some pens. I love Chinese pens, they are literally the best, so much so that I bought 14 of them. (I won’t be needing pens for a while) After that we went home and just passed out for the rest of the night.

 

Wednesday we went back to XinZhou, and classes went well. After lunch we were waiting for the car and this really weird guy came up to Caitlyn all cool like and took a picture with her in the background, it was really weird. When we came home our WiFi had stopped working and we couldn’t even use our Wechat, so since we had the rest of the night off we went decided to just go to bed early.

Thursday Caitlyn went to the college and I was able to sleep in a little. Around 10am I headed over to the center, they didn’t have anything for me to do again, so I called my parents, and then all the sudden the power shut off. At first I thought it was just because they didn’t pay the power bill, but when Daniel came in, he told me that the entire community had shut down. Chen came to the center and he gave me a gift, which was a really nice pair of metal chopsticks. I went home and when I got there Caitlyn came home too, and the power was back on!! However, the WiFi was worse and then our stove didn’t work anymore. Around 2pm we headed to this school to judge another English competition. There were so many kids, at least a hundred total that I judged, and the guy that was judging next to me, well, let’s just say I don’t think he knew what he was doing. He gave all the kids super low scores, asked them really hard questions, and he was kinda rude. There was this song that came on during the middle of our judging, that has you massage your eyes, ears, and what not, and he made all the kids do it and then yelled at them if they weren’t doing it. So scary and so strict. Afterwards Caitlyn and I went home and the power was off…again, and all the buildings were just black, it was really creepy. So we went to our apartment, luckily the elevator was still working so we took it to our floor. We then decided to head over to the center to see if the WiFi worked, lo and behold it did! So we stayed there till about 1am, yes in the morning, and then headed back home and went to bed.

IMG_9613

IMG_9634

Friday I woke up around noon and planned my lesson for the elementary class I was teaching that day, the subject matter was about pronunciation. I planned some tongue twisters to practice and then a couple of pages of words that sound similar but are different, like full and fool. The lesson went well and I still had some extra time so I read them a book. After class ended we made our way home and then changed our clothes and headed to the gym. Edis and Walker decided to join us. I didn’t do much but stretch and run for fifteen minutes. After the gym, we went home and grabbed our computers, phones and some food and headed to the center to use the WiFi since ours was still not working.  When I was there I found out that my computer charger had broken and my computer ended up dying on me, so I decided to call my mom and dad and eat a whole half of watermelon (something I do pretty frequently here). When I was on the phone with my dad, I heard a cat meow, so I meowed back, thinking it was Caitlyn meowing, and this cat came trotting towards me. It was super nice, and started purring when I picked it up. I went to go look for some food for the kitty but Caitlyn wanted to go home. When she saw the cat she about freaked and started to get all upset; apparently she doesn’t like cats, so she wasn’t too happy when she saw it. When we came home it was almost midnight, luckily I was exhausted so I fell asleep pretty quickly.

I had a very rude awakening around 1am, as I ran to the bathroom and was literally puking my brains out. This happened multiple times all the way till 5am, throwing up is never fun.  I couldn’t sleep at all throughout the night and overall I felt really horrible inside. When it was time for me to get all the way up, I was still feeling crappy; however, I told myself that if I just take a shower I will feel better. Well the shower didn’t work and I didn’t feel any better, so I texted Megan and Daniel asking if one of them could fill in or take over my classes for me about two hours before class started. Sadly though they were taking a nap and when they woke up they told me they couldn’t because they had already bought movie tickets and it started in an hour. Then it all just got out of hand because the center promised foreign teachers (American looking people) to teach the classes…. its way to much to explain the whole thing and so to make the long story short they told me I had to come in no matter what. So I did…sick, tired, no energy and not feeling well. So for class all I had them do was read and write a book report, easy. My last class was crazy though, so I told them to work for thirty minutes and if they did well, we would go outside and play basketball for the last 15 minutes of class. After class finished Caitlyn and I went and ate dinner (Yes, I was hungry by then) and then headed over to the center to chill…not think. I was super pooped out, so I left early, went home and straight to bed.

Sunday I had off so I slept till 1:30pm, that’s was when Caitlyn woke me up to eat, and then an hour later I went back to sleep. I didn’t wake up again till 8:30pm. Caitlyn and I headed to the center and chilled there till 1am, once again using the WiFi since we still didn’t have working wifi at home. This week I come home and I’ve been planning my trip, writing down directions and checking and re-checking my routes. I am excited to come home finally!!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

